Promote Smokefree Places

Over the years, Oregonians have worked together to protect employees at most workplaces from secondhand smoke and to create more smokefree housing options, especially for renters. They know that the places where we live, work and play need to provide healthy, tobacco-free options so we can avoid chronic disease and live healthy lives.

While those sorts of collective efforts to build a healthier Oregon make the greatest impact on our state, there are steps you can take today that will move us all forward:

Where You Gather:
  • Among family, friends, neighbors and co-workers, spread the word about smokefree local and state parks. Encourage them to visit and support parks that have gone smokefree.
  • Join with interested friends to connect with your county or tribe health department representative to encourage more tobacco-free environments. Find that person by clicking on the In Your County/Tribe link above.
If you rent:
  • When looking for a new home, check for non-smoking rental options. HousingConnections.org allows you to search for a unit in the Portland-Vancouver area (on the advanced search page, under “Options,” under the “Is smoking allowed menu,” choose “smokefree.”) Tell prospective landlords that you want smokefree housing.
  • Encourage your landlord to adopt smokefree housing policies and explain that it’s legal to do so. Share that studies show a non-smoking unit is almost $5,000 cheaper (on average) to clean after a renter moves out, compared to costs for cleaning a unit where smoking took place.
  • Talk with your neighbors about smokefree units and smokefree outdoor areas. Gather signatures for a petition to the landlord/manager/owner to show support for going smokefree.
When You Drive:
  • Make your car or truck a nonsmoking environment. Don’t be afraid to ask passengers to respect your request.
  • When it comes to kids and cars, Oregon law is on the side of smokefree. As of January 2014, it is a secondary traffic violation to smoke in a motor vehicle with a minor under the age of 18 present. Individuals can be fined up to $250 for the first offense and up to $500 for second or subsequent offenses for smoking in a vehicle when youth are present.